19–23 August 2024 in Prague, The Czech Republic

Advances in Modal Logic 2024

Call for Papers

PRAGUE, 19–23 AUGUST 2024

Advances in Modal Logic is an initiative aimed at presenting the state of the art in modal logic and its various applications. The initiative consists of a conference series together with volumes based on the conferences.

AiML 2024 will be co-located with the 21st International Conference on Relational and Algebraic Methods in Computer Science (RAMiCS 2024).



We invite submissions on all aspects of modal and related logic, including (but not limited to):

  • proof theory, semantics or automated deduction
  • applications of modal logic
  • history of modal logic
  • philosophy of modal logic
  • computational or theoretical aspects
  • specific instances and variations of modal logic (description logics, modal logics over non-boolean bases, dynamic logics and other process logics, epistemic and deontic logics, modal logics for agent-based systems, modal logic and game theory, modal logic and grammar formalisms, provability and interpretability logics, spatial and temporal logics, hybrid logic, intuitionistic logic, substructural logics, computationally light fragments of all such logics)

Invited Speakers

  • Alexandru Baltag (University of Amsterdam)
  • Marta Bílková (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • David Fernández-Duque (University of Barcelona)
  • Claudia Nalon (University of Brasília)


There will be two types of submissions for AiML 2024:

  • (1) Full papers for publication in the proceedings and presentation at the conference.
  • (2) Short presentations intended for presentation at the conference but not for the published proceedings.

Both types of papers should be submitted electronically using the EasyChair submission page:



Authors are invited to submit, for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings, full papers reporting on original research and not submitted elsewhere.

The submissions should be at most 15 pages (references excluded), with an optional technical appendix of up to 5 pages, together with a plain-text abstract of 100-200 words. The submissions must be typeset in LaTeX, using the AiML LaTeX template.

Authors must submit an abstract in plain text via EasyChair by the abstract deadline prior to full submission of their paper.

The presentations of accepted full papers will be 30 minutes long.


Submissions of extended abstracts of up to 5 pages plus references are also welcome, and will be subject to reviewing. The accepted submissions will be made available at the conference, and the authors will have the opportunity to give short presentations (of up to 15 minutes) on them.

At least one author of each accepted paper or short presentation must register for and attend the conference.


  • Abstracts of full papers submission: 8 March 15 March
  • Full papers submission: 15 March 29 March
  • Full papers notification: 20 May
  • Short presentations submission: 30 May
  • Short presentations notification: 14 June
  • Final versions of full papers and short presentations: 21 June
  • Registration deadline: 23 July
  • Conference: 19–22 August 2024


  • Agata Ciabattoni (TU Wien)
  • David Gabelaia (TSU Razmadze Mathematical Institute)


  • Philippe Balbiani (Institut de Recherche en Informatique de Toulouse)
  • Lev Beklemishev (Steklov Institute of Mathematics)
  • Nick Bezhanishvili (University of Amsterdam)
  • Agata Ciabattoni (TU Wein) (chair)
  • Willem Conradie (University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Tommaso Flaminio (IIIA–CSIC)
  • David Gabelaia (TSU Razmadze Mathematical Institute) (chair)
  • Silvio Ghilardi (University of Milan)
  • Nina Gierasimczuk (Technical University of Denmark)
  • Valentin Goranko (Stockholm University)
  • Rajeev Gore
  • Wesley Holliday (University of California, Berkeley)
  • John Horty (University of Maryland)
  • Emil Jeřábek (Institute of Mathematics, Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Clemens Kupke (University of Strathclyde)
  • Agi Kurucz (King's College London)
  • Roman Kuznets (TU Wien)
  • Emiliano Lorini (Institut de Recherche en Informatique de Toulouse)
  • Tim Lyon (Technische Universität Dresden)
  • Tommaso Moraschini (University of Barcelona)
  • Larry Moss (Indiana University Bloomington)
  • Sara Negri (University of Genova)
  • Nicola Olivetti (Aix-Marseille Université)
  • Alessandra Palmigiano (VU Amsterdam)
  • Xavier Parent (TU Wien)
  • Elaine Pimentel (UCL)
  • Vít Punčochář (Institute of Philosophy, Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Revantha Ramanayake (University of Groningen)
  • Renate A. Schmidt (The University of Manchester)
  • Igor Sedlár (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Ilya Shapirovsky (New Mexico State University)
  • Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans (University of Koblenz)
  • Balder Ten Cate (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
  • Hans van Ditmarsch (University of Toulouse, CNRS, IRIT)
  • Yde Venema (University of Amsterdam)
  • Rineke Verbrugge (University of Groningen)
  • Heinrich Wansing (Ruhr University Bochum)
  • Frank Wolter (University of Liverpool)


  • Olga Bažantová (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Marta Bílková (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Petr Cintula (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Wesley Fussner (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Zuzana Haniková (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Raheleh Jalali (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Filip Jankovec (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Vojtěch Kolman (Charles University)
  • Chun-Yu Lin (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Ondrej Majer (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Vít Punčochář (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Igor Sedlár (Czech Academy of Sciences) (chair)
  • Vít Punčochář (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Hana Střihávková (Czech Academy of Sciences)


E-mail enquiries should be directed to the PC chairs, sent to:

Our sponsors

EU Flag Mosaic

MOSAIC: Rise-MSCA-2020 P.101007627

Czech Society for Cybernetics and Informatics

Czech Society for Cybernetics and Informatics