3rd DaLí Workshop

Dynamic Logic: New Trends and Applications

Prague, 9-10 October 2020


Building on the pioneer intuitions of Floyd-Hoare logic, dynamic logic was introduced in the 70's as a suitable logic to reason about, and verify, classic imperative programs. Since then, the original intuitions grew to an entire family of logics, which became increasingly popular for assertional reasoning about a wide range of computational systems. Simultaneously, their object (i.e. the very notion of a program) evolved in unexpected ways. This lead to dynamic logics tailored to specific programming paradigms and extended to new computing domains, including probabilistic, continuous and quantum computation. Both its theoretical relevance and practical potential make dynamic logic a topic of interest in a number of scientific venues, from wide-scope software engineering conferences to modal logic specific events. However, no specific event is exclusively dedicated to it. This workshop aims at filling this gap and creating a heterogeneous community of colleagues, from Academia to Industry, from Mathematics to Computer Science.


Submissions are invited on the general field of dynamic logic, its variants and applications, including, but not restricted to

  • Dynamic logic, foundations and applications
  • Logics with regular modalities
  • Modal/temporal/epistemic logics
  • Kleene and action algebras and their variants
  • Quantum dynamic logic
  • Coalgebraic modal/dynamic logics
  • Graded and fuzzy dynamic logics
  • Dynamic logics for cyber-physical systems
  • Dynamic epistemic logic
  • Complexity and decidability of variants of dynamic logics and temporal logics
  • Model checking, model generation and theorem proving for dynamic logics

Invited Speakers

  • Natasha Alechina (Utrecht)
  • Johan van Benthem (U Amsterdam / Stanford / Tsinghua U)

Pandemic-related Arrangements

Given the improving epidemiological situation, in the Czech Republic and elsewhere, our intention is to organize the event as originally planned. In case the situation worsens, DaLi 2020 will be held as an online conference. The post-proceedings volume will be published in either case.

Submission and Publication

Submissions of original papers (unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere), up to 15 pages in LNCS style, are invited through this link.

As in previous editions, the post-proceedings will be published by Springer as a Lecture Notes in Computer Science volume.

Authors should consult Springer's authors' guidelines and use their proceedings templates, either for LaTeX or for Word, for the preparation of their papers. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs in their papers. In addition, the corresponding author of each paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form. The corresponding author signing the copyright form should match the corresponding author marked on the paper. Once the files have been sent to Springer, changes relating to the authorship of the papers cannot be made.

Extended versions of selected contributions will be published in a special issue of the Journal of Logic and Computation. More details will be provided after the workshop.

Venue and Fee

The Academic Conference Center, Czech Academy of Sciences,
Husova 4a, 110 00 Prague (map)

Information about the conference fee will be published soon.

Local Organization

  • Marta Bílková (Institute of Computer Science, CAS)
  • Petr Cintula (Institute of Computer Science, CAS)
  • Ondrej Majer (Institute of Philosophy, CAS)
  • Igor Sedlár (Institute of Computer Science, CAS)


With inquiries concerning the workshop, contact the PC chairs:

  • martins (at) ua (dot) pt
  • sedlar (at) cs (dot) cas (dot) cz


The workshop is supported by the Institute of Computer Science and the Institute of Philosophy of the Czech Academy of Sciences and the Czech Science Foundation grant no. 18-19162Y.



Program Committee

  • Carlos Areces (U Cordoba, AR)
  • Guillaume Aucher (IRISA, FR)
  • Alexandru Baltag (ILLC, Amsterdam, NL)
  • Luis Barbosa (U Minho, PT)
  • Mário Benevides (UF Rio de Janeiro, BR)
  • Patrick Blackburn, (U Roskilde, DK)
  • Thomas Bolander (DTU, Copenhagen, DK)
  • Johan van Benthem (ILLC, Amsterdam, NL)
  • Philippe Balbiani (IRIT, Toulouse, FR)
  • Marta Bílková (CAS, Prague, CZ)
  • Fredrik Dahlqvist (UCL, London, UK)
  • Hans van Ditmarsch (LORIA, Nancy, FR)
  • Sabine Frittella (LIFO, Bourges, FR)
  • Nina Gierasimczuk (DTU, Copenhagen, DK)
  • Reiner Hähnle (TU Darmstadt, DE)
  • Rolf Hennicker (LMU, Munich, DE)
  • Clemens Kupke (U Strathclyde, UK)
  • Alexandre Madeira (U Aveiro, PT)
  • Stefan Mitsch (CMU, USA)
  • Renato Neves (U Minho, PT)
  • Aybüke Özgün (ILLC, Amsterdam, NL)
  • Alessandra Palmigiano (VU Amsterdam, NL)
  • Olivier Roy (U Bayreuth, DE)
  • Lutz Schröder (FAU, Erlangen-Nürnberg, DE)
  • Sonja Smets (ILLC, Amsterdam, NL)
  • Fernando Velázquez Quesada (ILLC, Amsterdam, NL)
  • Thomas Ågotnes (U Bergen, NO)

Previous Editions

Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: 26 July 2020 (extended)
  • Notification: 15 September 2020
  • Revised papers (for workshop):
    1 October 2020
  • Workshop: October 9-10, 2020
  • Camera-ready papers (post-proceedings):
    30 October 2020